Home Sport Abbey CBS – MacRory Cup Champions 2006

Abbey CBS – MacRory Cup Champions 2006


CBS MacRory Cup Final: Abbey CBS, Newry snatched victory in the MacRory Cup final at Casement Park yesterday. Half back Ciarán Coffey hit the winning goal two minutes into injury-time.

The winners stormed off with an early point, followed by a sixth-minute goal from Ger McGarvey and a point by Ruairí Cunningham but the Newry side didn’t raise another flag until six minutes into the second half.

St Louis’ closed the gap to a point (1-2 to 0-9) by the interval.

Martin Clarke levelled in the 35th minute and again in the 41st before Ger McCarran put St Louis’ ahead. St Louis’ looked like winners after points by Clarke and Luke Toner left them ahead, 0-9 to 1-4.

ABBEY CBS: C Murdock; M Digney, C Murney (0-1), R Grant; D Rowland, K Dyas, C Coffey (1-0); K McKernan, R Gilmore; G McGarvey (1-0), S Grant, D Clarke; R Cunningham (0-1), S Murdock (0-2, one free), N Devlin. Subs: R Digney for Cunningham (26 mins), C Magee for McGarvey (43 mins), R Cunningham for Devlin (46 mins).

ST LOUIS’: G Joyce; S Rafferty, H Magee, A Sloan; G McCartan, J Fitzpatrick (0-1), F Doyle; K Quinn, P Fitzpatrick; C Morgan, M Clarke (0-6, 3 frees), P Bourke; C Killen, G Trainor, L Toner (0-2, frees).